Volunteer of the Year Recipients

2020 Volunteer of the Year is John Hubbs.

John Hubbs has worked tirelessly on making Krimgold Park the best park it can be beginning with the Master Gardner’s and then creating Friends of Krimgold Park.  Any day you can find him at the Park checking the pathways, flower beds, shrubs, and ponds to make sure they are free of weeds and debris.

He spearheaded setting up native plant gardens, worked with the beaver population control to protect the ponds, provided fliers for park visitors and organized Weed Warriors.

In addition, he has helped organize the repair work for the stone walkway foot bridge, trash barrel replacement and putting path distance markers on the trail at the park.

He started the Full Moon Fishing Derby and volunteers with the annual Fishing Rodeo which are both held at the park.  He has worked with the council handing out fliers, blowing up balloons and manning the booth at National Night Out.

In 2018 Friends of Krimgold Park received the Maryland Plant Community Award Program’s Bronze Award in recognition of their enthusiasm and hard work in planting and caring for trees in the local Urban and Community Forests under John’s leadership.

It is truly an honor and privilege for us to name John Hubbs as the Freedom Area Rec Council volunteer of the year.

Previous years award recipients

1992 Terry Reyes

1993 Calvin Green

1994 Marty Lookingbill

1995 Ken Whalen

1996 Rick Vespa, Chuck Foulk III, Carol Brown, Sue Podobnik

1997 Bill Schaefer, Jerry Janowick

1998 Jeff Morgan, Mike Smith

1999 Tim and KC Hastings

2000 Steve Delman, Chris and MaryLees Gunther, Terry Kinsler

2001 Andrea Brandt

2002 Curt Weise

2003 Susan Chaney, Scott Newton

2004 John Napp, Jack Diachenko

2005 - Brad Rees, Dick Smith, Paul Seegren

2006 Steve, Lyons, Jennifer Pugzczewski

2007 Andy Roberts, Bruce Webber

2008 Nick Stuhler

2009 - Gary Parlette

2010 – Ken Hollach

2011 – None given – County 40th Anniversary.

2012 – Joann Huber

2013 – Chris Little

2014 – John O’Donoghue

2015 – Crissy Elliott

2016 – Tom Luther

2017 – Dave Ferguson

2018 – Steve Burke

2019 – Steve Berry

2020 – John Hubbs

2021 - Steve Wallace

County Hall of Fame Honorees

2017 - Susan Chaney

2021 - Steve Delman

2021 - Ken Whalen